National Committee of the Friends of Myall Creek and local First Nations Community

Committee established in 1998, Memorial was unveiled in 2000

Committee and community members based on Gomeroi Country in Bingara, Inverell, Moree, Tingha and other locations.

Current First Nations committee members include: Gomeroi Gamilaroi Gamilarray Dharawal Ngarrabul Kooma Dhungutti Biripi / Wiradjuri nations. 

Ngiyana winangay ganunga we remember them. The Friends of Myall Creek raise awareness of the Myall Creek Massacre, to understand the truth of our shared history. On 10 June 1838, 28 Aboriginal women, children  and older men were murdered in an unprovoked and premeditated massacre. The local Aboriginal and non- Aboriginal community in regional NSW have come together in response to the tragic events of the Myall Creek Massacre. The Friends of Myall Creek have worked over 20 years to establish the Myall Creek Memorial site, organise a one-of-a-kind annual commemoration weekend and an ongoing program of learning, sharing and truth-telling. 

First Nations committee and community members

Aunt Sue Blacklock, AM, (Foundation Life Member) Nucoorilma people of the Gomeroi Nation (Kamilaroi/ Gamilaroi/ Gamilaraay)
Keith Munro, (Co-chair) Gomeroi (Kamilaroi/ Gamilaroi/ Gamilaraay)
Kelvin Brown, Anaiwan, Gomeroi (Kamilaroi/ Gamilaroi/ Gamilaraay)
Adele Chapman-Burgess, Ngarrabul/ Gamilaraay/ Yuwaalaraay/ Kooma
Brian Donnelly, Wiradjuri
Jolea Isaacs, Gomeroi (Kamilaroi/ Gamilaroi/ Gamilaraay), Ngarabul, Bidjigal, Dharawal, Ngoongar
Marilyn Isaacs, Gomeroi (Kamilaroi/ Gamilaroi/ Gamilaraay), Ngarabul
Roger Knox, Gomeroi (Kamilaroi/ Gamilaroi/ Gamilaraay), Bigambul
Tony Munro, Nucoorilma people of the Gomeroi Nation (Kamilaroi/ Gamilaroi/ Gamilaraay), Euahlayi
Fabri Blacklock (Previous Committee Member) Nucoorilma/ Ngarabal/ Biripi
Colin Isaacs (Life Member) Bidjigal, Dharawal, Ngoongar
Janelle Speed (Previous Committee Member) Biripi, Dhungutti

Non-Indigenous committee and community members

John Brown, AM (Foundation Life Member)
Cecilia Blackwell (Co-chair)
Graeme Cordiner
Ann Daly
Elizabeth Kakoschke
Joanne Miller
Stuart Pendlebury
Ivan Roberts, OAM
Carmen Southwell
John Addley (Previous Committee Member)
Adam Blakestar (Previous Committee Member)
Peter Stewart (Previous Committee Member)