Biennale of Sydney

We are giants of our histories  We are giants of the landscape  We are held, we are in the holding of the earth, fallen bodies, in the possessive gaze of the state and its structures of consciousness. Locked in the violent arithmetic of genocide.   In the Hold responds to radioactive ideas of deep colonialism. This performative work explores the quietness of sovereignty, through activism, spoken word, music and installation projection.  Presented by the Powerhouse Museum.

Download

NIRIN WIR is your guide to 87 days of arts and culture! Explore below or download a PDF copy of the full program.

Events

Saturday, 14 March – Tuesday 17, March

aabaakwad 2020: NIRIN | JOIN THE WAITING LIST

Saturday, 11 April, 9-10:30am

Bushwalk with Aunty Deidre Martin

Saturday, 14th of March - Monday, 8th of June

GUIDED TOURS: COCKATOO ISLAND

Every Saturday. Departing from Olympic Park Wharf. 10 am

NIRIN HAIVETA | Sydney Olympic Park to Cockatoo Island

Saturday, 9 March - Sunday, 29 March 2020. 10 am–6 pm

NIRIN NGAAY

14, 28 March, 4 April & 6 June 2020. 10–11 am

NIRIN PERFORMANCES at Aesop Sydney

Saturday, 14 March 2020. 11 am - 1 pm

NIRIN Yarn Dion Beasley with Johanna Bell

Saturday, 14 March - Monday, 8 June. 10 am–5 pm

PRIVATE TOUR: NIRIN

Saturday 14 March 2020, 11.30am-4pm

Artist Talks | Art Gallery of New South Wales

Saturday, 14 March. 12–3.30 pm

Adrift Lab

Saturday, 14 March 2020. 12–1 pm

Gina Athena Ulysse: An Equitable Human Assertion

Every Sunday. 2–3 pm

South West Sessions

Multiple dates. Sunday, 15 March – Sunday, 7 June. 10 am–5 pm

MzRizk: Ahla Wa Sahlan

Every Sunday from 15 March – 31 May 2020. 10 am–5 pm

Our Path: Linda Kennedy

Sunday, 15 March. 10.30–11 am

NIRIN HAIVETA: Performance

Every second Tuesday, 17 March - 26 May. 11 am

Guided Tours: Parramatta Female Factory Precinct

Wednesday, 18 & 25 March. 5–10 pm

Art After Hours

Wednesdays, Thursdays & Saturdays. 10 am–2 pm

Tony Albert: Healing Land, Remembering Country

Thursdays, Saturdays & Sundays. 19 March - 17 May. 9.30–11 am

Guided Tours: La Perouse

Various dates. Friday 20, March – Monday, 8 June 2020. 9.30–11 am

Life (and Death) in the Abstract

Saturday, 21 March & Sunday, 22 March 2020. 12–2.30 pm

Breaking Bread: Cross Winds / Cross Currents

Saturdays 21, 28 Mar, 11 Apr, 9, 23 May, 6 June. 12 pm & 2 pm

Youth-led Guided Tours

Saturday, 21 March. 4.30–6.30 pm

Talking Circles

Saturday, 21 March 2020. 5–8 pm

Sunset Sessions

Multiple dates. Wednesday, 18 March - Wednesday, 3 June

ARTplay

Wednesdays, 28 March – 22 April 2020. 10–11 am

Guided Tours | Campbelltown Arts Centre

Wednesday 25 March, 6.30pm

In conversation with Brook Andrew

Wednesday, 25 March. 7.30–8.30 pm

Auslan Tour | Art Gallery of New South Wales

Thursday, 26 March & Thursday, 9 April 2020. 6–8 pm

Reading NIRIN: NIRIN NGAAY | Darling Square Library

Friday, 27 March - Sunday, 29 June. 7–9 pm

4ESydney HipHop Festival

Saturday 28 March, 6 May & 16 May 2020. 2–4 pm

NIRIN Film Program | Campbelltown Arts Centre

Saturday, 28 March 2020. 2 pm

Projections #2 + NIRIN

Sunday, 29 March & Sunday, 3 May. 8.30 am–2.30 pm

True Nourishment

Sunday, 29 March & Sunday, 24 May, 2020. 4 pm

NIRIN Film Program | The Old Clare

Sunday, 29 March 2020. 4 pm

Tours for Tots

Wednesday 1 April & Wednesday, 6 May 2020. 6.30–8.30 pm

MCA Sounds on the Terrace

Friday, 3 April - Sunday, 5 April 2020. 7–9 pm

Bankstown Poetry Slam

Various dates. Sunday, 5 April – Sunday, 26 April 2020. 1–3 pm

Brian Fuata: APPARITIONAL CHARLATAN – MINOR APPEARANCES (2020) | NAS

Monday, 6 April 2020. 11 am–12.30 pm

Access Workshop | Art Gallery of New South Wales

Wednesday, 8 April, Wednesday, 6 May & Wednesday, 3 June 2020. 8.30 pm

NIRIN Film Program | QT, Sydney

Various dates. Saturday 11 April – Sunday 29 April 2020. 10 am–5 pm

Art in Action

13, 16, 18 April 2020. 10.30 am–1 pm

School Holiday Workshop: Better Together

Various dates. Tuesday, 14 April - Friday 24 April 2020. 9.30 am–4 pm

School Holiday Workshops | National Art School

Saturday, 18 April 2020. 2–6 pm

FUNPARK

Sunday, 19 April 2020. 6–9 pm

MCA GENEXT: NIRIN Edition

Monday, 20 April, Friday, 24 April & Sunday, 3 May 2020. 11 am–4 pm

Drop In and Make

Tuesday, 21 April 2020. 11 am–12.30 pm

Children’s Access Workshop | Art Gallery of New South Wales

Wednesday, 22 April & Sunday, 26 April 2020. 12–3.30 pm

Microplastics: Citizen Science Field Trip

Wednesday, 22 April 2020. 6–8 pm

Nick Waterlow Memorial Lecture: Youth Activism

Thursday, 23 April 2020. 2 pm

Andrew Rewald: Soil Creation

Friday, 24 April 2020. 11 am–12.30 pm

SaltWalks: Chinatown

Saturday, 25 April 2020. 11 am - 12.30 pm

SaltWalks: Royal Botanic Garden Sydney

Sunday, 26 April 2020. 12–1.30 pm

SaltWalks: National Art School to Sydney Jewish Museum

Sunday, 26 April 2020. 2 pm

Artist Talk: Brook Andrew

Wednesday, 29 April. 10am

Flag Project

Wednesday, 29 April 2020. 12–2.30 pm

Sovereign Ideas

Wednesday, 29 April 2020 6 - 9pm

TO COOK COOK OR NOT

Thursday, 30 April 2020. 6–8 pm

Reading NIRIN: NIRIN NGAAY | Green Square Library

Saturday, 2 May 2020. 10.30 am–12.30 pm

Audio Described and Tactile Tour: Biennale 2020

Saturday, 2 May 2020. 1–3 pm

Auslan Tour: Biennale 2020 | MCA

Saturday, 2 May 2020. 2 pm

Projections #3 + NIRIN

Saturday, 2 May 2020, Saturday, 16 May & Wednesday, 20 May 2020. 3.30–7 pm

La Perouse Cultural Experience: Kadoo Tours and Dean Kelly

Sunday, 3 May 2020. 10.30 am–4.30 pm

MCA Zine Fair 2020

Wednesday, 6 May 2020. 1–2.30 pm

Audio-Description Tour | Art Gallery of New South Wales

Thursday, 7 May – Friday, 9 May 2020. 2 pm

Stories We Never Tell

Monday, 11 May 2020. 12.30–3.30 pm

Artist Talk: Adrift Lab

Saturday 16 May & Sunday 17 May 2020. 9.30 am–4.30 pm

Family Weekend | National Art School

Thursday, 21 May 2020. 11 am–12.30 pm

Art and Dementia | Art Gallery of New South Wales

Saturday, 23 May & Saturday, 30 May 2020. 10 am–12 pm

Blue Mountains Artist Camp

Saturday, 23 May 2020. 10 am–6 pm

Movers & Makers

Saturday, 23 May 2020. 2–5 pm

Reading Oceania

Thursday, 28 May 2020. 1–3 pm

Sites of Conscience Long Table

Thursday, 28 May. 6–8 pm

Reading NIRIN: NIRIN NGAAY | Customs House

Friday, 29 May 2020. 7–11 pm

MCA ARTBAR: NIRIN Edition

Saturday, 30 May & Sunday, 31 May 2020. 10 am–5 pm

Amala Groom and Joel Bray: The Repatriation Project

Saturday, 30 May 2020. 12–3.30 pm

Pop-Up Wash-Up!

Saturday, 30 May 2020. 2 pm

Projections #4 + NIRIN

Saturday, 30 May – Tuesday, 2 June 2020. 5–5.45 pm

Unbound Collective: In the Hold

Saturday, 30 May 2020. 12–3.30pm

Family Day: A Place of Gathering

Sunday, 31 May 2020. 1.30–2.30 pm

Auslan Tour | Art Gallery of New South Wales

Sunday, 31 May 2020. 1.30–3 pm

UNBOUND COLLECTIVE: In-conversation

Monday, 1 June – Monday, 8 June. 10 am–3 pm

Our Path: Uncle John Kelly and Rena Shein

Wednesday, 3 June & Saturday, 6 June 2020. 12–1.30 pm

Club Ate: Bhenji Ra and Sitti Obeso

Sunday, 7 June 2020. 7–9.30 pm

Club Ate: Phasmahammer (FKA JUSTIN SHOULDER)

During May and June 2020

Lily Hibberd: Boundless – out of time